Tourism in Murcia
Bullfighting Museum of Murcia
Dean of the world's bullfighting clubs
The Bullfighting Museum was founded by a group of enthusiasts on 7th September 1887, the same day as the inauguration of the bullring of La Condomina, the current Plaza de Toros de Murcia.
More than 3,500 objects related to the world of bullfighting
The museum combine painting, graphic arts, textiles, tools and objects, historical documentation and pieces of contemporary art. Among all, there are some things that stand out, such as heads of important bulls that were in La Condomina, a collection of 30 wall posters (from 1887 to 1913) a unique collection in Spain of more than 30 tambourines painted by Murcian painters, more than 300 posters from 1830 to 1935 (many of them in colored silk, which are an important part of the history of bullfighting), costumes, capes, picador jackets, and other objects related to the bullfighting world.
A bullfighting museum in a 1920s building, inside the Saltpetre Garden
The Bullfighting School of Murcia, distinguished for its antiquity with the Gold and Silver Medals of the Royal Bullfighting Federation of Spain, also has an extensive library, as well as a large café in which to taste the regional gastronomy. On its terrace you can enjoy the views of one of the most traditional and lively corners of Murcia, the Jardín del Salitre.